Menudo

So I’ve been looking at pics and videos of Menudo the last few days. In case you don’t know what Menudo is, I’ll explain. Menudo was a Puerto Rican 5-teen boy band from the late 70s through the 80s. I remember them from their heyday in the early to mid 80s. None of the boys could be older than 16 in the band. Once they reached 16 they were let go and replaced. So I guess they were all between 13 and 16 years old. Their music was catchy and very good. I know that many people like to rip them now but that only speaks volumes of their own jealousies and shortcomings. Their music was so much better than any being made by teenagers today. I came across many Menudo performances on YouTube–thank goodness for that site–and was kinda surprised by what I saw. They actually wore skintight, shiny disco pants a lot. And just in case I haven’t ever mentioned it, I’m a huge fan of disco pants. I love disco pants even more than skintight jeans! They’re designed just like jeans–minus the front pockets. But they had rear patch pockets just like denim jeans and they were very shiny and fit like a second skin. Button and zip fly, too. I remember wanting to have some sooooo bad. I was in love with those pants. I was probably like 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 years old and was completely mesmorized by the sight of those skintight shiny pants. I grew up seeing them all the time on tv shows such as Solid Gold, Buck Rogers, Charlie’s Angels, Three’s Company, The Jeffersons, etc and all sorts of movies. And especially music shows. Around the late 70s and early 80s, men and women were wearing spandex disco pants on tv. Rock, punk, pop, country, R&B. Didn’t matter the kind of music. You could see them everywhere. I didn’t remember Menudo wearing them. So when I found these videos I was taken aback somewhat. This was an era–and not too long ago–when guys wore skintight jeans and disco pants and it was perfectly acceptable and not deemed ‘gay.’ So I’m watching these Menudo videos and these 13-16 year old boys are wearing skintight shiny bright colored disco pants: (Rene Farrait, Johnny Lozada, Xavier Serbia, Miguel Cancel, Ricky Melendez) The first few videos I saw it seemed that most of their disco pants weren’t very tight, except on 2 of the guys, Rene and Xavier. Theirs were obviously hugging their thighs and upper areas more than the others. But as I watched more and more videos, I noticed that all of their skintight shiny pants became tighter and tighter to the point where they were equally skintight. And it’s just amazing to consider that these were 13-16 year old Latino boys. Some of the boys were not particularly “good-looking” but these pants instantly gave them sex appeal. I wonder how they felt in those pants. I know I would have enjoyed being in those pants, especially moving around in them so much and knowing that thousands and thousands of eyes were upon me. Those are 2 of my fave videos of theirs. With those skintight pants and those moves they were really trying to make the boys of Menudo into objects of attraction, though disco pants are extremely comfortable and great to move around in. I’m kinda surprised some of the parents went along with it all. Ahh, but those pants. Makes me wish I could’ve been a member of Menudo. I would have loved to perform in pants like that and have all this footage of me dancing and singing in them. What an era. Disco pants for everyone. And everyone wore them. Menudo, Leif Garrett, Shaun Cassidy, the Brothers Johnson, the Pointer Sisters, Olivia Newton-John, Sheena Easton and so many others. And despite what anyone thinks, those pants were very comfortable and perfect for moving around in. They were spandex just like running tights.  Disco pants were/are extremely comfortable and incredibly awesome. I don’t see why people hate on Menudo for wearing disco pants so much. But who cares what the haters think. Wish I could get some of those pants made for me.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Menudo

  1. raymond says:

    I enjoyed reading this as I love Disco Spandex pants also and can’t believe those videos of menudo.Don’t know why you say “Wish I could get some of those pants made for me”.As you can still buy these pants.Anyway here are a few pics of me wearing the best pants in the world!!!

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/76805235@N02/6891655055/in/photostream

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/50767482@N02/6857295991/in/photostream

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/50767482@N02/5544601186/in/photostream

  2. raymond says:

    I enjoyed reading this as I love Disco Spandex pants also and can’t believe those videos of menudo.I remember guys and girls wearing them in the 80’s.Don’t know why you say “Wish I could get some of those pants made for me”.As you can still buy these pants.Anyway here are a few pics of me wearing the best pants in the world!!! Hope someone enjoys them.


    • sktL505 says:

      Thanks for those pics! I believe I have come across them on flickr before. Good to know another dude out there loves shiny skintight disco pants.
      Where do you get yours from? I know that American Apparel sells them but they look more like running tights and not pants like the original disco pants were. I have an original vintage pair in silver but they are too short on me. I recently got a vintage pair in black that fits me perfect.
      I love the 2 colors that you have. Do you have any others and where do you get them?

    • sktL505 says:

      And regarding Menudo: as a kid growing up watching them, I always knew there was something i liked about them. Now i know for sure what it was :]
      Whoever designed their clothing must’ve had a thing for disco pants also. And they made sure their pants fit them skintight.

    • sktL505 says:

      Just wanted to say that today I came across the multiple videos you put on your channel of various women wearing disco pants in the 80s. Looks like you’ve had them there for about 2 months but I only just found them today. They’re great and hope to see more!

  3. Raymond says:

    Yes, I can’t put it into words the feeling I get when I see or wear Disco spandex .I truly love them and Always have.I am taken aback when I see these videos (Menudo) and they were very lucky to be able to wear them in front of an audience.I love your blog on this and it should get more attention,The fetish on this cannot be that small,And I think you look good in your pants.I remember going to a local metal show when I lived in tulsa Oklahoma in about 1983 and I remember the guys that were selling T-shirts Ect. were wearing skin tight Disco spandex pants,Its etched in my mind.My brother even wore them to a show,My best friend would go out and Pick up girls in them,really!! They were the fashion at that time.I didn’t wear them because I was Embarrassingly skinny then.My silver one’s are authentic Frederick Of Hollywood and The blue ones are made by a company called lip service,Both from Ebay.I want red ones next.Check out this video of WKRP where Johnny Fever turns into a disco show host and is seen wearing Red Blue and silver Spandex Jeans.Not many videos of males Wearing them and I always Imagine that its me wearing them.Tell me what you think.Cheers.

    • sktL505 says:

      Thanks for the video! It’s pretty humorous to think of Howard Hesseman in disco pants. But there was plenty of great footage of his blue ones and not so much of the red and silver ones. Looked like there was somewhat of a bulge showing in the silver ones.
      I’m surprised to hear you saw so many guys wearing disco pants back in the day. How things have changed in such a short amount of time! For some reason it seems that guys wouldn’t be caught dead in pants like that nowadays. It’s really a shame they went out of style–at least for guys. I guess heavy metal bands were the last ones to keep them going.
      There’s plenty of great videos of Leif Garrett on youtube wearing black disco pants in concert and on tv shows. And more of menudo also. I’m always looking out on ebay for them.
      Were these pants sold both for men and women back then or were they only sold for women but guys bought them too? And do you wear yours out in public?

    • sktL505 says:

      I just came into some blue ones myself. They are really tight. Check out my photos!

  4. raymond says:

    I never really wear mine out in public except for Halloween and I have modeled them for 1 or 2 females before.Girls will say they look gay but, they like them on me,although they may not look good on say Billy Bob who has a beer belly and a 10 year beard and flanel shirt.These pants were Unisex and they never made a cut for males,Guys would wear the same style for women.I remember seeing them on the rack at stores in the mall.I’m meaning to pick up a pair of red ones at American apparel,Wonder how they would fit me???

    • sktL505 says:

      Do you remember how much they cost? I’m curious to know if they were pretty expensive or not. I’d love to walk into a store and see a rack full of them. I know AA has them but they are tight all the way down to the ankles like running tights. They look and feel great just like the originals. I guess it all depends on the kind of shoes you wear with them. If you wear boots then it doesn’t matter cause the bottoms won’t show. But I like to wear sneakers with mine and the AA ones don’t cover up the sneakers at all. Still, i plan on getting the ones they have in navy, charcoal and maybe gold. They would fit you great!
      Halloween is a great sneaky way to wear them in public! I should wear my black Bojeangles pair this Halloween with a black leather jacket for the Leif Garrett look.
      I don’t wear mine out in public either though I have posted up pics for my friends to see and some say that I can pull off the look.
      Funny how girls say they look gay on guys, but they love watching football players wearing their spandex. Sounds like double talk. I think many of them are just jealous they can’t pull off the look.

      • Raymond says:

        Its funny you ask the price cause I specifically remember them being in the $40.00-$50.00 range in like 1987-89 Brand new.And in the mid to late nineties I would go to thrift stores after the fashion for them fizzled out specifically looking for S.D.J and would find them.I would literally get them under $10.00 and would always find black ones all the time,They were the most common.Once in a thrift store I saw red and gold ones.I have been to many thrift stores since then and don’t find them anymore.Imagine my excitement looking through the racks and seeing a pair under $10.00 Wow!!Unfortunately I don’t even have the black ones anymore.But I’m not a fan of the sneaker look with S.D.J I always prefer to wear boots with them,Just My opinion.

  5. sktL505 says:

    1987-89? I really thought they were out of style by 84/85. That was pretty pricey for that time. But definitely worth it. I’ve been looking in thrift stores for them also. But no luck. Were the ones you found in thrift stores in men’s section or women’s?
    I don’t have any boots to wear with them and I want to avoid the ‘wrestler’ look. I have to look around for the right kind of boots. Maybe Uggs.
    Interesting, I was reading about why disco pants faded away from fashion and found out that it had become too associated with prostitutes (blame Hollywood’s movies). Also, men started wearing them first and then women hopped on board. Seems like men always start the cool trends in clothing and then women take them over and label men as gay when the guys want to take their original styles back.
    I’ll be hitting the garage sales this year and hopefully find some there.

  6. raymond says:

    Yes I remember girls wearing the pants up to the late 80’s,I would say I didn’t see them anymore in the early 90’s.I was finding them in thrift stores in the early/mid 90’s because they were just throwaways at that point,or overstock from stores,They were always in the womens section.I find very nice brand new Levis 527’s in thrift stores now and they are my favorite.Same deal I guess,Every year they change them up and get rid of them.But Good Luck in finding S.D.J’s now at thrift, Its like finding a needle in a haystack,I don’t even bother anymore.I can’t even find Spandex leggins there anymore, and I could find them or satin type of pants up till like 2006.If I did find S.D.J now I would probably sell them on ebay cause I can only fit into the largest size which is about 14,Good Luck Though.

    • raymond says:

      Funny thing is people were throwing them away, giving them to Goodwill and no one thought how much the would be worth now.A few years ago on ebay you could get them cheaper and now they fetch over $100.00.

      • sktL505 says:

        Yeah, it’s amazing how much they’re worth now. I recently bought one on ebay for $94. Worth every cent. I would definitely like to find some to sell on ebay myself.
        All this talk of SDJ’s has made me dig up some old ‘Venture’ store ads i saved from the late 80s. They had girls’ shiny skintight lycra pants for only $7.99 in all colors! Of course I wanted to get some, but i was 14 at the time and how was i going to shop for girls’ pants in front of my mom? All through the years i have fantasized about having bought some of those pants, even though they were more like tights and probably didn’t have back pockets. Still, there’s nothing like tight shiny lycra. I will scan the ads and put the pics up here later on.
        I’m trying to find some flat soled, suede boots to wear with disco pants or any skinny/tight jeans for that matter.
        I have yet to watch the 2nd video you sent. I was thinking about compiling a list of all tv show episodes that featured anyone wearing disco pants. I think it would be a good resource for all disco pants lovers.

      • Raymond says:

        I have so many Dvd’s and video files of S.D.J. Of course 90% of them are women.

      • sktL505 says:

        Would be great to see anyway!

      • sktL505 says:

        Hey Raymond,

        I hope you don’t mind but I found some nice vintage videos on your channel that I plan to upload to my own channel that is dedicated to spandex disco pants. I couldn’t find a way to message you there. Thanks!

      • sktL505 says:

        Most are women indeed but its still great to see disco pants. I have videos of “The Midnight Special” where performers such as the Brothers Johnson, Pointer Sisters and others are all wearing them. On the Brothers Johnson video (which can be found on youtube) everyone in the whole band is wearing a different color. That’s how it should be!

    • sktL505 says:

      I think I came across your YouTube channel today. Must be yours because in one video you’re wearing the silver sdj’s and in the other you’re wearing the blue ones. They look great! Especially the silver ones.

  7. raymond says:

    Here is another episode of WKRP where Hessman is wearing Disco Pants again,and this time it looks like he’s Free Birding it,He has balls!! No pun intended. Look at 22:48

  8. Ran says:

    Menudo in disco pants showed that males have terrific figures, too. Many men were also turned on

Leave a Reply

