Jonden Disco Pants

Looks like in a few days I’ll be coming into a blue pair of Jonden disco pants. I have acquired a ‘contact’ who is helping to hook me up with these awesome vintage pants. This person is going to be on the lookout for me for additional pairs in colors that I want. Here are a couple of pics of the blue ones I bought and will be getting soon:

Very nice shade of blue! And the inseam/overall length is just about the same as the gold disco pants I got earlier this week. Looks like these will be perfect. As usual I will take a ton of pics when I get them and will post a few here. This particular pair reminds me of the ones one of of the Menudo boys was wearing in one of the videos I posted some time ago.
Damn. Why don’t these pants just come full-fledged back in fashion? And not just for women either, but for men as well. Something that has such a flattering fit and is super comfortable should be sought-after, everyday wear. Here is an interesting entry I found on Wikigrain.com about disco pants:

 

Spandex disco jeans A.K.A “The Disco Pants” or “The Disco Jeans” is a 1970’s to 1980’s Fashion Trend, This Pants is Soft – Shiny & Form-fitting…Made with Nylon &Spandex – Elastane construction Material with Metal zipper and button closure, It come inMulti-colors such as (black, red, blue, midnight navy, gold, silver, green, purple, pink, orange…etc)

History

Who created the disco jeans? (help out)

70’s stories

In the 70’s era, the disco pants was famous in those days, the first gender to wore them was men but later on like around the mid to late 70’s women started to wore them, women went to the clubs dancing in them – alot of women say its comfortable.

Famous women wore it like Linda Blair in Roller Boogie (1979) or in Skatetown, U.S.A.(1979), or Cheryl LaddFarrah Fawcett, and Jaclyn Smith in Charlie’s Angels (1976-1981), or Erin Gray in Buck Rogers in the 25th Century (1979-1981)

*Famous men who wore disco pants include Leif Garrett, Shaun Cassidy, The Brothers Johnson and Menudo.*

80’s stories

In the 80’s era, it started to fade away cause of the female prostitute in New York City & some parts of California, but its was still hot cause some people never thought it was whore pants, but then Hollywood started making movie prostitute with actresses in these jeans…like Anne De Salvo as Gloria the Hooker in the beginning of Arthur (1981) or inLunch Wagon (1981), and it’s like they destroy the reputation of this pants around the late 80’s to 90’s, any women that wore this jeans in the late 80’s was judged as a whore or a slut.

I added the “famous men” section with the asterisks. It is very important to denote that guys wore these pants as well, and according to the above quote, actually started wearing them before women did. Why should women have all the fun, awesome clothing?

Well, I’m getting ready to wear my black ones tomorrow. I know I haven’t been talking as much about it as the first time I was getting ready to wear them. I don’t know, I’m just feeling a bit more uneasy this time around. I don’t like the idea of leaving the house and coming back in with another pair of pants over them. I want to be free to just wear them. But I’m not there yet. And then where I go there might be more giggling, more surprised looks. Maybe even some people who aren’t regular attendees and are less concerned with others’ feelings. Oh well. I guess that stuff will only help me get a thicker skin. And life is short so just do whatever the heck makes you happy and doesn’t harm you or others. Yeah, that’s how I have to look at it.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jonden Disco Pants

  1. Beibei Wu says:

    Wow! They look amazing! The colour is so Summery ^^

    http://www.beilovebei.com

Leave a Reply

