Spandex Disco Pants in the Late 80’s

As I soon get ready to put on my skintight, shiny black Frederick’s of Hollywood vintage spandex disco pants, I just wanted to mention that I now know that disco pants were still being worn as late as 1989. I thought they were pretty dead by that point and perhaps they were dying out around that time but they were not gone yet. I remember having seen an episode of “Married With Children” where Peg Bundy was wearing gold ones.

pg

pbundy

Hers fit amazingly perfect! Unlike my gold pair which is a little on the loose side. But hers look great whether she’s sitting or standing. These pictures are small and upon a quick search I couldn’t really find anything better. I need to get me a better fitting gold pair. Better=tighter.

Anyways not knowing anything about this episode I was surprisingly quickly able to find out that it was first broadcast in November 20, 1988.

I came across another video on YouTube of an Italian singer named Sabrina Salerno performing a song called ‘Sex.’ There’s no info on the video but the song was a 1989 release so the performance must be from that year as well. In the video Sabrina is wearing a skintight shiny black pair of disco pants. I’m not sure where she was performing but she was singing in English so it’s possible it was in the US.

But the point of all this is to show that SDJ’s were still around and being worn near the end of the 80s and not just by the unsavory types. But it was getting harder and harder to find any guys wearing them with the exception being Menudo, I guess.

This is just a short post because I am on my way out. I’ll be wearing my own spandex disco jeans today which will be the first time this year! In the meantime, here is the full episode of the Married With Children episode featuring Peggy Bundy in skintight gold disco pants.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spandex Disco Pants in the Late 80’s

  1. Russ says:

    Hey sktL505! Awesome pics and awesome videos! Where do you find all this stuff? Keep up the good work!
    I finally did it. I caved in and bought red American Apparel disco pants. I love them so much, I went nuts and bought the whole color spectrum of spandex disco pants that they offer. That’s 11 pairs I own or soon will own. BTW, the crotches of the AA pants haven’t given me any trouble so far. There’s enough room for my equipment! Good enough.
    I’ve been looking on ebay for spandex disco pants and finding some, but the ones that possibly fit are expensive! Oh well! Keep on trying I guess, and maybe I’ll get lucky.
    I know you asked for pics of me in my SDJ’s, but I’m a bit squeamish about putting pics of myself on the net, even if they don’t include my face. Also, I’m not the greatest physical specimen out there. I’m not fat, but I’m not in great shape either. I don’t know, I’ll think about doing it in the future.
    Keep on keeping on! Look forward to your next post.

    • Spandex Disco Jeans says:

      Sorry I never responded to this comment! But anyway, Youtube, youtube, youtube. Thank goodness for youtube. And for the readers of this blog who send me photos and video clips that they know of.
      I didn’t realize you bought all the colors of AA disco pants available at the time. Do you still have all of them?

Leave a Reply

