White Disco Pants, YouTube & Hollywood

Just a few comments here.

First, I acquired a white pair of vintage spandex disco pants. This is my first white pair. They are absolutely amazing and unbelievably tight. So tight in fact that I was not able to zip them up, and upon trying to do so the zipper pull tab broke. I was able to button them but not zip them. I don’t know how these will get fixed. It’s just the zipper pull tab that broke, not the whole zipper. I wonder if they can replace just the tab. Would be cheaper probably and would maintain the vintage integrity of the pants.

Okay, so not only did the zipper broke, but after I took the pants off I noticed they got really stretched along the butt seam and below & around the waist band. So these pants are definitely pushing the limit on fit for me. Looks like they got damaged just from being worn for a few minutes. Shame. Jonden disco pants seem to be so sensitive, moreso than the other brands.

white jonden-014

silver mich-045

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This one has been the most difficult pair of disco pants that I have ever been able to fit into. Absolutely awesome!

Anyone else have a hard time deciphering between white disco pants and silver disco pants?? See above photos.

I have recently made a YouTube channel devoted completely to vintage footage of people wearing spandex disco pants. Only 5 days on there and already over 1,000 views. At the moment I have 14 videos uploaded, featuring Menudo, Sheena Easton, The Nolans, The Brothers Johnson, Dorit Stevens, Kate Moss and others.

Recently I had been thinking that Hollywood created the spandex disco pant and Hollywood destroyed the spandex disco pant. It was an amazing creation and it could have lasted longer in popularity, perhaps even into the 1990’s. But as I read somewhere, in the early 1980’s Hollywood started making movies and TV programs prominently featuring only prostitutes wearing disco pants. Hollywood has a major influence on public opinion, so if Hollywood starts sending out messages that only prostitutes wear disco pants then no one else will want to wear them anymore. And that’s what happened. An increase of call girls wearing disco pants on TV and on the big screen meant a decrease in regular women (and men) wearing them. In fact, someone shared with me an episode of Cagney & Lacey where they are playing decoy call girls and one of them has to wear blue spandex disco pants! What a shame that such an awesome–if not the best ever–item of clothing was turned into something sordid and inappropriate. Though, the teen boys of Menudo continued wearing them into the mid 1980s and hair metal bands adopted them as well during that period. But of course, Menudo was catering to the Latin American market, not the American market. And hair metal was not exactly mainstream. So I think it’s safe to say the spandex disco pant was pretty much dead in the mainstream by about 1983. The majority of videos of mainstream actors/actresses/singers/bands/dancers wearing disco pants that I have come across range from 1978 to 1982.

The few of us diehard vintage disco pants lovers along with the new breed of AA disco pant wearers will keep alive the bold and daring fashion of shiny, skintight lower-body wear.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to White Disco Pants, YouTube & Hollywood

  1. Disco Pants Addict says:

    Okay so I am now up to 12 pairs of AA Disco Pants. They have become an addiction to say the least. But I am wondering what are women’s thoughts on straight guys wearing the disco pants? It seems like they have become very popular since they were release a few years back by AA. I envy females for the very fact they can wear the Disco Pants, leggings, tight shiny spandex, but if guys wear it, its suddenly taboo and unacceptable, unless in a gym, or cycling, or active sports. Seems so hypocritical and narrow minded. Disco Pants feel simply AMAZING. Girl or guy, they just feel great against the skin, like sex on you’re legs. I’ve bought so many pairs I practically pay AA’s rent. I don’t wear them out in public, even though I know I look pretty good in them, and not in a girly way either. They just look and feel incredible even on me. Of course I enjoy seeing ladies in tight leggings and spandex, but I really do appreciate wearing them as well. For now it will stay in the privacy of my own house.

    • sktL505 says:

      So now you have AA disco pants in all the colors? Awesome! I used to have the navy blue, teal and red ones but sold them cause I needed to pay some bills. I still have a black one though. But I do have a nice collection of vintage disco pants. Those I will not sell because they fit more like slim jeans versus the super skinny ‘tights’ fit of the AA ones. The vintage ones are tight where they need to be (up) and loose where they should be (down).
      I never wore my AA ones in public either, but I do wear my vintage ones because they just look like shiny tight pants, not shiny tights. But I do love AA’s disco pants and am glad they brought this amazing creation back to life, even though the girls who wear them now have no idea this type of pants existed before they did.
      I don’t think you’ll get any opinions on this blog from women regarding guys in disco pants. Most of the readers here are guys and the few women who follow this blog probably only do so with the expectation that their blogs will be followed back and help to grow their audience. But from what I’ve read across the web women do not like to see guys in disco pants. If this were the 1970’s or 1980’s it would be different. But we are living in a highly enlightened era where it’s not acceptable for men to wear women’s clothing–especially tight clothing–yet perfectly fine for women to wear men’s clothing.
      The 1990’s with its endless supply of super baggy clothing has really changed mindsets out there. Whereas disco pants used to be unisex clothing in the 70s and 80s, now they would not even consider making the modern ones to be worn by guys. It’s difficult for guys to wear skinny jeans without being labelled gay. Can you imagine them wearing skinny jeans that are shiny?
      But I say what the hell. You don’t want to be on your deathbed regretting not doing the things that made you happy because of what others would say and think. Even the smaller things–like wearing disco pants. Life’s too short. It’s almost a year since I first wore my disco pants in public. Yeah, it was a big deal when I first wore them. People stared, some laughed. But I kept wearing them to the point where people noticed them but it was no longer a big deal. People get used to stuff. If they see you all the time wearing disco pants, after a short while they won’t care anymore. It loses its shock and oddity values.
      Thanks for commenting!

  2. Disco Pants Addict says:

    Thanks Skt. No I don’t own all the colors yet, some I don’t really care for. I’ve tried a few different ones, but wound up exchanging them for my favorite, black. I figured there wouldn’t be much a girl crowd passing through these parts of the internet. I just wanted to put it out there. Appreciate you’re feedback.

    • sktL505 says:

      Oh, I thought maybe you were trying to get all colours. There are certain colours I would not wear either, unless I was performing music in front of an audience. That’s actually a great time to wear outlandish clothing, because I believe it’s expected of entertainers.

  3. Troy says:

    You said you broke the zipper and I had this happen to me before when I Had a black pair with the cheap plastic zipper,I took mine to one of those Chinese dry cleaner places and they replaced it with a better quality zipper and it was cheap.

    • sktL505 says:

      Yeah, just the zipper pull tab broke. I’m hoping that they can replace just that and not the whole zipper. I would like to maintain the vintage integrity of the pants as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

