All About Disco Pants

Lately all I have on my mind is disco pants. And it’s good because it serves as my escape from this completely insane world. When I’m thinking about disco pants, and googling them and wearing them and looking at photos of them and reading about them, I’m not thinking about my problems.

Still not much on eBay in terms of vintage spandex disco pants. Only a few here and there and none that I’m particularly interested in or would fit in or could afford at the moment. I’m still anticipating getting a gold Le Gambi pair soon and perhaps even a silver Le Gambi one. I really love the Le Gambi brand of disco pants. They really seem to be sturdier and their shine is the perfect amount. I think the gold ones will fit me much tighter than my current Frederick’s gold ones so I will be putting my current ones up for sale. The Frederick’s still fit like disco pants should–body hugging–but they’re not a skintight fit, which means I could wear them without feeling too self-conscious. But the occasion for wearing gold disco pants is not very common for me. If I could afford to I would just keep both and maybe I will. We’ll see.

I have been finding more videos on YouTube of music artists from the late 70’s/early 80’s wearing disco pants. So I will be adding those to my own channel. I only look for the vintage stuff. Yes, I love the modern AA disco pants but nothing beats the vintage ones because they are the ones that started my obsession. And they are the ones that I can get away with wearing because they were created unisex.

I find a lot of disco pants haters on Tumblr. Including young women. I can only chalk it up to them having low body image esteem. Some complain about the ubiquitousness of the disco pant. But isn’t pretty much every article of clothing ubiquitous? I guess these girls feel they are so original and unique in their own choice of clothing apparel. Another case of the teapot calling the kettle black. I hear it and see it all the time.

The truth is people have been so ingrained into their gender roles that they have accepted them without question. That goes for everything from v-neck t-shirts to skinny jeans to shiny pants to leggings. Clothing has been given genders and sexualities even though it is not a living entity. The worst part is that these genders and sexualities have evolved over time and in some cases as little as just a few years. But enough before I get too philosophical.

I have to upload some Benny Hill Show clips that feature mostly women–but even one guy–in disco pants from around 1980. And I would still love to find that WKRP in Cincinnati episode that featured Howard Hesseman in 3 different colored disco pants (blue, silver, red). There’s a guy you would never picture in disco pants, right? Kinda balding, mustachioed, kinda old-looking. But he was portraying a disco DJ at the time and that was an item of clothing associated with popular music at the time–particularly disco. Nowadays disco pants have become commonplace, everyday wear. For women. But I have yet to see any girls around here them. That is of course any other girls besides the 2 I gave disco pants to. And I don’t even see them wear those pants very often.

That’s all for now. I’ll try to check in more often, even though I know no one reads this. Heck, even I don’t read it. That’s why I end up repeating things I’ve already said before.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All About Disco Pants

  1. Tom says:

    Here ya go —
    WKRP in Cincinatti: “Dr. Fever and Mr. Tide” can be watched here:
    http://zvbxrpl.blogspot.com/2008/02/wkrp-episode-dr-fever-and-mr-tide.html

Leave a Reply

