Just a super quick update–I did get the boots yesterday and they are fantastic! Tried some new skinny Levi’s 510 with them and it looked great!! The jeans are a medium-light blue and they really contrast with the boots. However it is a look that will take a little getting used to as it is a look more associated with women/girls. Not that’s it’s a feminine look at all. I don’t see tucking skinny jeans into boots as a womanly way of dressing. It’s just more commonly seen on them. By the way, the last 2 days I have gone out in skinny jeans tucked into my Vans boots. So I’m working my way on dressing how I like even though it may look odd to all the others who dress ‘regularly,’ whatever that means.

Anyway, I also tried the boots on with my black Bojeangles disco pants and my navy blue Bojeangles disco pants. A very nice look with both! Did I mention that the boots are really high? When I pulled them out of the box they didn’t look all that tall. But when I put them on they covered up a good portion of my calves. Much taller than the Vans slip on boots. I do like them very much and, finances permitting, I will eventually get them in Chocolate and Charcoal as well. Here’s a photo of them with one of my vintage pairs of Le Gambi disco pants:

DSC06894 (2)b

Another nice aspect of these boots is that I can wear American Apparel disco pants with them and probably get away with most people not knowing whether they are the vintage ones or AA’s. However I do have yet to try this out. Due to the nature of AA’s leggings-like disco pants, the pants probably will not bunch up around the top of the boots, as the vintage ones do. The vintage disco pants are straight leg/slim cut and they do bunch up a bit around the tops. I am considering picking up a pair of AA’s in large or X-large and seeing if there’s any difference between their fit and the small’s and medium’s I have worn.

So now I’m just waiting on the midnight navy Le Gambi disco pants. I found out that parcel deliveries has been slow this week due to something called the Mardi Gras 🙂
I just hope it gets here today.

I leave you with a video from 1980 of Leif Garrett singing one of his hit songs as he wears some nearly knee-high, light-colored boots with skintight, navy blue disco pants tucked into the boots and a light colored button-up shirt tucked into the pants. Such an awesome outfit! Kinda simple, yet edgy. And the shirt is buttoned up all the way to the top! Just goes to show you that you don’t need to show any skin to dress or look sexy!

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Got the Boots!

  1. Rick says:

    Alright well I see you’re still active here! You’re style is right on and you definitely know how to wear it! Do you have much trouble finding the correct inseam length? I prefer at least a 34″ inseam. It looks like most of what you have fits just right lengthwise. I’d really appreciate any site suggestions you have for finding more spandex and tight stuff that are decent length. I know you’ve most likely answered this question for others, but I just discovered your posts. Style. Later.

    • Rick says:

      Looks good man! Like you say you should definitely dress how you like. Of course it will look odd to some but they don’t know…I’m here to say it’s right on. Later..

      • sktL505 says:

        Thanks Rick! I know the fans of this style are out there, though probably few. Always good to hear from one!!

    • sktL505 says:

      Hey Rick,
      I’m 6’3″ and I find that as long as the pants have an inseam of at least 31″ they will work. They don’t need to be worn super high and they do stretch so the key is to leave some slack for the hems.
      If you want pre-owned vintage disco pants you can find them on ebay and etsy.com. If you want brand new ones that are just as awesome as the vintage ones (or even better) you can purchase them from an ebay seller named ‘covetedobsessions’. I can give you direct contact info if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

