XL AA Disco Pants & First Wearing of ’14

So I did it. I ordered another pair of black disco pants from American Apparel. This time an XL. Hey, I had a 30% off discount code so that brings their price down to about $59. Not bad at all. It’s already been shipped so should get them pretty soon. I’m very curious to see how XL will fit. If I don’t like it I’ll just exchange for another size and/or color.

Looks like today I’ll be wearing disco pants for the first time this year and first time since last October when I wore my black Jonden’s. I’m looking forward to it. I had 2 opportunities last month to wear them but it was really frigid and you can’t really wear anything underneath them for extra warmth. Plus I had gotten out of the mode of wearing them on a regular basis which honestly affected my confidence a bit. When I first started sporting them I had gotten up to 6 times per month (to the same place) which made it quickly become less of a spectacle. Now of course it feels almost like starting over though I know some people do expect to see me in them. There will be others though who are not familiar with that look and will probably stare. Well, they are nice pants and even though I’ve seen them so many times I would still stare if I saw someone in them too. They’re just uncommon. Almost like a novelty. I can’t help but look at the girl who I gave a pair to whenever she wears them. I try to keep myself from staring though because I don’t want to be caught doing so. If people stare because they’re fascinated by the pants then it’s fine. But if they stare because they’re thinking ‘gross’ or ‘only women should wear that’ then it’s more bothersome. That’s just something we all have to get over, I guess; they have to get over their preconceived notions of what certain people can and cannot wear and accept that it’s one of the aspects of living in a free society. There are places less free in that respect where manner of dress is completely dictated by law. And of course I have to get over trying to figure out what people are thinking or even caring what they think for that matter. The people who like what you’re wearing will tell you. And some have told me. Those who don’t and are polite will not tell you. Those who are rude and obnoxious will say something rude and obnoxious to make themselves feel better about some deficiency in their lives. Fortunately, where I wear my disco pants to, the only people I deal with are the ones who like the pants or don’t but are polite.

It’s actually a bit interesting when there are people there who’ve never seen me (or anyone probably) wearing disco pants. It’s fuuny to follow the direction of their eyes down to your legs. I mentioned previously about a teen guy who saw me in them and even said “Woah!” as he just made no effort to hide that he was gawking at my pants. That was pretty cool actually and I would have loved to talk to him about the pants if he wanted to. He was wearing some pretty skinny jeans himself so obviously he’s interested in fashion. What I don’t like dealing with is stupid giggling. Or comments about sexuality, which I have not heard to this point and don’t expect to.

Oh well, if anything novel should happen I’ll write about.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

