XL Disco Pants Too Big

Got my size XL American Apparel disco pants in black today. They do fit pretty loose. They’re still tighter than any pants most guys would wear, but compared to any of the disco pants I already have they are by far the loosest. Against the advice of 2 out of 3 AA sales associates, I chose the size XL. I imagined they would be loose but these turned out looser than I thought. And though super comfortable, they are a little less fun to wear. So I will send back and exchange for a L.

I have come across photos and/or videos online of guys sporting AA disco pants. And from what I could tell based on the photos they were all wearing looser fitting versions. For example. a video I posted here some time ago feature a young guy named Kian showing how he styles the pants. Though he looked great in them and wore them well it certainly looked like there was a bit of loose material up at top and he surely could have sized down a bit. A couple of other guys on fashion websites were also wearing looser fitting disco pants. It’s great that more guys are wearing them but there appears to still linger a fear of going tighter with these pants on their part. And there’s no real need to as they are super comfortable even in smaller sizes. I used to have a pair in size S and though they were totally skintight on me they were super comfy and were not restrictive in any way. My old pair in size M is also skintight and I really couldn’t tell any difference between it and the size S. Both felt perfect. I’m hoping the size L will fit more snug than the XL but definitely looser than the M. I’m pretty sure these pants have been redesigned a few times so it’s quite possible the newly made size M’s don’t fit like the first-run M’s did. My current size M is from way back when AA first started selling these babies. So there could be variances in sizing. I’ll let you know as soon as I get my new L’s!

I may snap a few fit pics of these XL’s before returning them so stay tuned.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

