Disco Pants Attitudes

A month since I’ve written! Sorry, disco pants fans. I’m just managing several online projects and they’re all time-consuming. Unfortunately, none are very profitable at the moment.

A few evenings ago I wore the amazing midnight navy (newly made) Le Gambi spandex disco pants to a sort of celebration/dinner event. I paired the pants with jacket, tie, vest, shirt and Converse sneakers. I think the outfit looked very good and the designer of the pants agrees.

The reaction to the pants was rather low-key, as was expected. But I know that everyone noticed them. One person touched the pants. Another commented that I was wearing ‘tight jeans’ which was a relatively accurate statement. After all, these pants are known to some as spandex disco jeans.

This was also the first time I ever wore disco pants where I kept my shirt tucked into them. And I left my jacket open. I think it just looks better overall if one is dressing a bit more formally to tuck the shirt in the pants. Also I had been really inspired by a Leif Garrett video (Memorize Your Number) where he was wearing navy blue disco pants and he had his button-up long sleeved shirt tucked into his pants. I really liked how it looked on him. And even though he was really thin at the time, the shirt does tend to pull itself a bit up and out from the pants creating a ‘muffin top’ look. And that’s the main reason I never wanted to tuck any shirt in. I’m not as thin as he was so I didn’t need that extra muffin-top look created by the shirt pulling out. But after I saw the effect on him I thought to myself that I could get away with that as well. So I tried it and it went well. Now if I had not been wearing a jacket, I’m not sure I would have kept the shirt tucked in. And I guess another main reason for that–maybe even the real main reason–is the fear of revealing too much.

Let’s be honest: if disco pants are worn correctly–meaning pretty much skintight–they completely outline the shape of your bum. In the 1970s and 1980s that was fine. Everyone–guys and girls alike–mostly wore jeans that did that. It was accepted as not only sexy but stylish. Now, just 25-35 years later it’s still fine for women but not so much for men, though from what I understand women would like to see it more on men. Additionally, properly fitting disco pants on men can be revealing up in front as well. Personally I’m not interested in revealing anything of that nature to anyone. I just want the pants to be on display. They’re a pretty amazing article of clothing and they deserve to be seen in their entirety just as a nice pair of slacks or a designer raw-denim pair of jeans should.

One thing I’ve been wondering lately is where folks actually could go to purchase disco pants when they first came out. I was way too young to be able to get or even wear any during their heyday. In fact the youngest people I’ve ever seen wear them were Menudo who were about 14 or 15 in disco pants. And what about high school guys who were fans of Leif Garrett and/or Shaun Cassidy? I’m sure there were plenty of guys who wanted to be like those 2 and probably even went so far as to buy and wear disco pants to impress the girls. From what I’ve read online, girls/women pretty much drooled over those 2 in their tight spandex pants. Do any readers of this blog have any answers or personal memories regarding these questions? I would love to read any stories you could share.

On that subject, how did teen guys view Leif Garrett and Shaun Cassidy? Was it similar to today’s culture, where it seems most guys hate the current teen idol–Justin Bieber–or did  they look up to them and were influenced by their music and dress, etc.? I would love to know what the thinking was at that time. Personally, if I were junior high or high school age during that time I would have tried to imitate how those guys dressed. Not so much to try to attract girls, though that would have been a side benefit, but as an excuse to wear disco pants. I can’t imagine the reaction showing up on the first day of school of 12th grade, per say, wearing black spandex disco pants, a black leather jacket and with long shaggy hair! I’m convinced those two guys’ styles had to have impacted and influenced millions of teen guys.

I’ll leave you with this awesome photo of Shaun Cassidy performing live in 1979 in what appears to be black disco pants. This is a great shot and actually better than any I have found online of Leif in such pants. Enjoy!

august 7...1979

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Disco Pants Attitudes

  1. Tom says:

    I can offer my opinions to both questions. In the 70’s you could buy disco pants at some specialty clothing shops that sold disco/club type clothing. They’d be selling all kinds of disco wear like polyester leisure suits, silky shirts, boots, belts and other accessories. I also used to see ads from “Satin Sales” in backs of music magazines that sold spandex disco jeans for $50 by mail order.

    As for Shaun Cassidy and Leif Garret and how teen guys viewed them, well I grew up in the 70’s during the Leif Garrett/Shaun Cassidy craze. (Andy Gibb also) and I never knew any guys that were into their music or cared how they dressed. If anything, guys made fun of them. They were the Justin Biebers of that era. I did buy some of their records when they were current hits, but I was the exception.

    • sktL505 says:

      Thanks for sharing your memories, Tom! It’s great to know that you could actually get some of those pants by mail. For those a little more shy about going to a store or maybe even not being able to get around to a store mail order would be ideal. I would have gone that route myself!

      Interesting to know that the attitude towards teen (male) idols hasn’t really changed. I guess I probably would’ve been made fun of. I know that with Justin Bieber there is jealousy involved. He got into the music business in his mid-teens and many guys would love to have been able to do that. Personally I’m not a fan of his or his music or the way he dresses, but I’ll readily admit that he has the looks and he can sing. I suppose it was a jealousy issue back then too, right? I mean, who would not have wanted to be a good-looking rockstar singing in front of thousands of screaming fans?
      I know some of their music was bad–like the Beach Boys and doo-wop era covers. But the tunes originally written for them were good stuff and rocked just as well as anything else from that era.
      Did you have to hide the fact that you had some of their records?

      • Tom says:

        Oh yes I couldn’t share the fact that I bought a Shaun or Leif record with any of my classmates. A guy into Shaun Cassidy was unheard of. It was considered “girl music” and even then, I think a lot of the “cooler” girls didn’t like Shaun or Leif, but listened to stuff like Kiss or Rod Stewart.

      • sktL505 says:

        Ok. I guess some things never change. Well even if they didn’t like Leif or Shaun guys like Steve Perry & others were wearing disco pants too.

      • Spandex Disco Jeans says:

        And Rod was wearing his black and red spandex pants too!

Leave a Reply

