Disco Pants in 1987

Take a look at this video:

That is Lola Falana in the black disco pants. And based on my research this clip is from the spring of 1987. Two things based on that info: first, 1987 is a rather late year for disco pants to still be seen; second, she was about 44 years old in this video which for me means that I have many great years ahead of me to wear disco pants!

I don’t know if her pants in that video are a carryover from the originals. Perhaps she had a collection of some from when they first came out. Or maybe those were ones being made at that time. Or maybe even a custom-made item. The only thing I noticed is that they seem to be a little tighter fitting at the ankles. Not like the modern version, but certainly narrower than the vintage ones I have and have seen others wear. She’s about 72 now. I wonder if she still wears them…

As I mentioned, this clip is from 1987. I was pretty confident that disco pants were all but dead after 1985. But I have also previously written about a “Married With Children” episode from 1988 which featured Peg Bundy wearing gold ones. Shiny spandex was still in fashion throughout the 80’s but in terms of disco pants, the popularity had waning. I think shiny spandex tights began replacing actual disco pants as a more accepted and contemporary style of clinging pants and also as a more casual form of clothing.

By the 1990’s, skintight disco pants had virtually disappeared, with the only shiny, tight legwear being found in lycra running tights. That is, until the wonderful shine of nylon/lycra had been converted to a matte format. It seems that all things shiny had lost their glimmer. Super bagginess had taken over as well and has made the decade of the 90’s one of the most forgettable in terms of fashion.

(Video courtesy of a fellow disco pants admirer and wearer.)

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Disco Pants in 1987

  1. Russ says:

    I saw the video before. Awesome, except for DL. Get him off. Does she still wear SDJ’s at age 72? HMMM??!! I hope she still looks as good. If Raquel Welch can still be hot in her 70’s, why not Lola?

    As for shiny or multi-colored spandex fading then coming back, I wasn’t and still really am not aware of any fade out and return to fashion. I have always had mine throughout the 90’s & 2000’s & still have many of the shiny spandex items I had from back in the day; still wearable and in good condition. Shiny spandex was available mostly online from online manufacturers and from ebay sellers, as well as certain cycling stores and sporting goods stores. You had to really look for it, but it was still available. Not like it is now, or was at first, but the shiny stuff could be had. Personally, I LOVE IT ALL! Shiny, cottony, supplex, polyester, solid print, multi-colored, whatever! If I liked how it looked, I went for it. Still do. Oh yeah!

    • sktL505 says:

      Hey Russ,
      It’s just that the 90’s were pretty horrendous with baggy and loose fit everything. Seemed that anything tight was not right. Thankfully, tight is in for everyone now, not just in terms of jeans but leggings, meggings, track pants, etc.

      I may have mentioned in a previous post that Eastbay used to make some very shiny unisex running tights back in the 90’s. Now they only tights they sell are matte. They also used to have Nike lycra shorts that were very shiny as well. Now the Nike shorts as not so shiny. It just seems that for whatever reason matte has replaced shiny. Perhaps they decided that shiny was too provocative or exciting?
      I don’t know if Lola still wears them but I can’t imagine her looking better than she did in that video!

      • Russ says:

        I agree, but one can wonder or dream if she still looks as good. I agree with all of the rest of your reply too.

      • sktL505 says:

        Actually I just came across some info on her. She’s become super religious after an illness in the late 80’s and said she does not ‘dress sexy’ anymore. I guess disco pants are out then.

  2. sam says:

    Oh it gets better with Lola,check out these video’s.Disco Spandex again!!

    • sktL505 says:

      Thanks for these great clips, Sam! I guess Lola was a huge fan of these pants
      The Sha Na Na appearance is during the height of the disco pants craze. The telethon clip seems similar to the David Letterman video time period.
      Thanks again!

      • Russ says:

        Oh well. Being super religious is her prerogative. Not wearing disco pants – damn! Vids are awesome. I wish that was me in that audience getting a kiss.WOW! And the guy from Sha Na Na getting a facefull of her booty as they lifted her up – wish that was me too!

  3. sam says:

    Oh and I forgot to add this one,Been wanting to get this movie for a while called Georgia Peaches with Tanya Tucker,You can get it on ebay.

Leave a Reply

