Childhood Story

A funny story from my younger years…..

When I was a young kid I was pretty obsessed with disco pants whenever I saw them on tv. I remember at one point after having seen them, I decided i was going to try to make me a pair. Mind you, I had no idea what these pants were called or what they were made from. My sister called them ‘silk pants’ so that’s what I thought they were called. Anyway, I needed something shiny to make the pants from. And something colored. And something large enough that could be made into a pair of pants. Well, I decided on a garbage bag! Yes, I ‘borrowed’ a new, black garbage bag from the kitchen and now I was set to make me some skintight shiny pants. How was I going to put a button and zipper on these pants I had no idea. I would worry about that later. First I had to work on making sure the bag fit like a second skin around my legs.

Needless to say, that whole project did not go very far. I cut up the bag and tried using tape, but naive as I was at the time I didn’t realize that a plastic bag would stretch out and rip easily. I don’t even know what I ended up doing with that bag. Perhaps it’s somewhere in the garage in my boxes of ‘old’ stuff.

Of course I was bummed. I couldn’t ask anyone for help. I couldn’t even talk about my skintight shiny pants obsession with anyone. It was too weird for a kid and probably still too weird for an adult. But we have the internet now where we can talk about ANYTHING.  Not only is the internet good for that but it has also allowed me to build a collection of disco pants several decades after I tried mindlessly making my own.

Some people may say I have a spandex disco pants addiction. Maybe I do, maybe I don’t. But even if I do I can sure think of worse things to be addicted to. At least this is an article of clothing–clothing being something we all need–and I can always sell them for whatever reason.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Childhood Story

  1. skippy says:

    I did do a similar thing as a kid and used a shiny satin shirt,It had the shine of spandex and stretched the same and had two leg holes,But you can say it failed and I ripped the shirt,Shirts are not quite pants.Just a few years later a friend of mine in 1984 had black Disco pants and ended up giving them to me,In 1998 I lent them to a friend who had a workout band and he cut the legs halfway and made workout shorts,He still has them today.Half pants just above the knee.

    • sktL505 says:

      Hahah, yes shirts are not quite pants. But that’s pretty awesome that someone gave you an actual pair back in the day. I can’t imagine how I would have felt if someone gave me a pair at that time. I probably would’ve tried them on any chance I got while no one was looking.

  2. skippy says:

    Back then 1983/1984 I remember my Brother wearing them once or twice,One friend has a red pair and another friend had a blue pair and I remember him walking through the mall and all the girls were paying attention to him,It was kinda funny cause we knew he was the man with the pants.Most malls back then had a Frederick’s of Hollywood stores in them and that’s where everyone bought them.We were metalheads. Post Disco spandex pants were Parachute pants and more people bought them Guys and Girls,They were tight and made out of parachute material,Not as sexy/shiny but some girls looked good in them.

    Parachute pants.

    • sktL505 says:

      That’s pretty awesome to walk around in a mall wearing disco pants! I can’t imagine a guy doing that nowadays. Though I imagine it could be a bigger deal in our minds than in reality. I like to wear my skinny jeans tucked inside some black Ugg-style boots that I have and to be honest no one really seems to care much. No weird looks or anything. Sometimes I think most people will just respect you for wearing something different, whether they personally like it or not.
      As for parachute pants, well I still plan to get me a pair. They may not be as tight or shiny (or maybe even as comfortable) but I think they may be thrilling to wear as well.

  3. skippy says:

    Honestly I think the demise of Disco Spandex was the fact They just weren’t as Durable as most clothes are,They were meant to be tight and they would rip and you have to take real care of them,Some times the shine faded if someone accidently put them in a dryer unlike jeans which last for years, well at least some of them do.The shiny fashion of yesteryear is another reason,But face it I did have friends that owned them of in the end they went rippppppppp.

    • sktL505 says:

      You may be right. From what I understand they were pretty expensive even then. And for something that pricey you expect it to last pretty long.
      The 80’s had some great fashion, the 90’s were horrendous, the 2000’s have been getting much better. I think some shine has returned to fashion as is evident in the disco pants revival and in coated/waxed denim and in faux leather wear.

  4. skippy says:

    Price wise they were $40.00 – $50.00 back then at Fredericks. I distinctly remember the price because I wanted to buy them and didn’t have the cash.I think the American Apparel line is popular from what I see online and girls are buying them like crazy,I don’t see them much in public but I also don’t go to clubs anymore,Bet you can see them there.Guys wont wear the AA pants in public like the 80’s because it is too Feminine for conservative america.Back then it was a trend.

    • sktL505 says:

      Yeah, that was pretty expensive for that time but surely well worth it.
      If only American Apparel made theirs similar to the originals I think guys would have been more willing to wear them. Especially considering the skinny jeans craze of the last several years. All we need is one famous and well-liked male celebrity to wear them and it may catch on.

Leave a Reply

