The Ropers & Three’s Company

“The Ropers” television show was a spinoff from “Three’s Company” tv show back in the late 70’s. While “Three’s Company” was hilarious and a major success, “The Ropers” was not so much and lasted only 22 episodes, less than 2 full seasons. The series ended on a high note however, as the 22nd episode, titled “Mother’s Wake” from May of 1980 featured a recurring character named Debbie Hopper–played by Lois Hamilton (Areno)– in black spandex disco pants. And we got to see a good amount of Debbie in her shiny disco pants. The episode centers on a party so everyone is a bit dressed up. Lois Hamilton passed away in 1999 at the age of 56. But that episode is definitely worth watching if you can find it. I’ve looked all over the internet for it without success.

As far as I can remember, “Three’s Company” featured only 2 episodes where anyone was wearing disco pants. I was confident there were more but I can only remember these 2, and I’ve seen every episode multiple times. The first one is titled “The New Landlord” from September 1979 has an early scene where Larry is at the Regal Beagle and a blue disco pants clad woman walks in and he immediately goes after her. We get to see a close, full body shot of her amazing pants. However, she is wearing a similarly colored top and it is covering a good portion of the pants. But her pants are the epitome of how they should fit: skintight waist to knees and then looser but not bell-bottomed or flared from the knees down to the hems. See for yourself. Watch the video below right at the 4:35 mark.

The 2nd episode, titled “Oh, Nun” from January of 1982 featured a long final scene in a diner/bar with a woman in the background sitting at the bar. She was wearing black disco pants. Not really a great scene for disco pants lovers. Definitely not as good as the first episode I mentioned. Check it out below.

That’s all the disco pants I can remember from this series. A bit disappointing that there were only 2 episodes in 7 full seasons, considering that this show ran concurrent with the height of disco pants popularity. I do recall Chrissy wearing some shiny red pants a couple of times but I’m not convinced those were disco pants. If any of you remember any episodes of Three’s Company that had disco pants I would love to hear about it.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Ropers & Three’s Company

  1. skippy says:

    Thanks for the Threes Co. Clips did see these before,and the one’s of chrissy in the red satin pants,But never saw the Ropers one which I tried to find with no luck.Don’t know if you’ve seen these Dottie West clips before as they weren’t there when I searched tons at one time,But I kinda have a H.O for her for some reason, well I guess its the spandex and red hair but The fall guy episode shows her silver pants better than I’ve ever seen and the live clip has her in black disco Pants(which I never saw her wear)check 26:25 mark. I don’t know if I 100% like her silver one’s as They are custom made for her and don’t have back pockets,which I do like.And she always wears that gun holster down too low,Anyway let me know if you’ve seen these.

    • sktL505 says:

      Dottie certainly never left home without her spandex and I cannot blame her. I don’t remember seeing either of these videos. And I’m not a fan of the pocketless disco pants either but they still look pretty great. I don’t think I would wear them though. Thanks for these videos and keep them coming!!

  2. skippy says:

    I also wanted to add that There are tons of times when I was younger I would see Disco spandex on Tv especially country shows and some of the women artist wore them,Unfortunately I do not remember the artist or the show so I just can’t find it.But for the most part I had to do detective work and really search out you tube videos ect.to find stuff I remember watching when they aired.There was one episode of Gimmie a break when they are at a mexican restaurant and their male waiter is wearing Black spandex pants or pseudo disco pants,I saw it then and had a hard time finding the episode until last week,Keep in mind I hadn’t seen this since the 80’s and the image I had is the Waiter and the Mexican band were all wearing those pants,Anyway this really shows the fashion in the 80’s as No male waiter could wear this now,And would be called Gay.Here is the clip,Check at 7:00 mark.

    • sktL505 says:

      Thanks very much for this video! I would have never found this on my own. I have no interest in working as a waiter in a restaurant, but part of the uniform was disco pants I would certainly apply for the job!
      It’s hard to tell if those are actual disco pants but since this episode is from 1981 I would bet money that they are the real deal. Great clip and further confirmation that these great pants were meant for men to wear also. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

