AA Disco Pants Really Great After All

So last evening I was wearing the AA disco pants for a bit. As tiny-looking and skintight as they appear, they sure are a super comfortable pair of pants. I was thinking they would be completely appropriate to wear to a party or a gathering at some friend’s place. They’re great for sitting on the floor in, too. No movement issues at all. Of course, I think the smallest pair I can fit into is a medium. The last size small that I tried getting into was a charcoal pair I bought on ebay. I tried putting them on but I gave up seeing there was no way I could get them up and buttoned/zipped without damaging them. Funny though, my small pair in black that I gave to my girl friend used to fit me fine. That pair was from 2009. Perhaps they are making them smaller now.

This medium that I still have I bought in late 2008 so they are 6 years old now. It was from the time that AA first started selling these pants. And I noticed yesterday when I had them on that around the seam in the crotch area it is starting to thin out. Mind you I have never worn these pants anywhere in public. I have just worn them for a few hours at a time at home whenever I’ve had the urge to do some photo shoots. So I’m a bit disappointed that they are starting to ‘crap out’ without ever having had the privilege of being worn out in public. That’s why I would like to get some more pairs before AA stops selling them, which I do suspect may be sooner than later as there already are certain colors/sizes that are no longer available. I have come to deeply appreciate AA’s modernized version of the disco pant over the years, but I would still feel less confident wearing them than the vintage ones. They still suffer from the tights/leggings syndrome which I am not against but fully embrace. It’s just a little more difficult to match up tops and shoes with leggings-style pants.

While we’re on the subject of AA disco pants, a reader of this blog has sent photos of his 3-tone disco pants for us to see. Here they are:

HPIM1141

HPIM1142

HPIM1143

HPIM1144

HPIM1145

Looks great! They are certainly high-shine and the colors on the sides give the pants a bit of an athletic look to them. These and the 2-tones are very nice. Personally I would stay away from the printed ones. Those do nothing for me. The patterns seem to take away from the shine element of the pants which just destroys the concept of disco pants. If AA wants to start dropping their disco pants line they can start with the printed ones.

Well, that’s all for now. You can tell I’m going through a major spell of disco pants obsession lately as I have been blogging frequently about it.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to AA Disco Pants Really Great After All

  1. Russ says:

    Hey sktl. I own those AA disco pants as well. I have the giraffe print pants, the Degas black & white 2 man print, the cosmic walking pants, and the blue with random white dots on the way. I think they have a bit of a David Lee Roth flair to them if worn properly, so they do indeed make me feel like a bit of a rocker when I wear them. Also, I’ve been to AA’s website recently, and I’m afraid I don’t see the evidence of interest waning regarding disco pants. The 2-tones, Degas print, cosmic walking print, & some solid colors are still there at full price. Other disco items are there, also at full price. It doesn’t look to me like interest is dying at all. Hopefully your blog will keep it that way. Those pants pictured above are pretty cool aren’t they? They almost look like Dallas Cowboys football pants IMO. See ya later.

    • sktL505 says:

      Hi Russ! Happy new year!!
      I just don’t care much for patterns. I can use them on long and short-sleeved button-up shirts. But not for anything else. I prefer solid colors.
      I hope you are right that interest in disco pants is not waning, but the reduced prices on some of them do concern me. In fact, I accidentally clicked on a certain size of the caramel disco pants and it said that it was no longer available. Someone from AA that I chatted with online several months ago told me that they were going to start phasing out certain colors. I hope my blog can help keep interest alive.
      I do like the 2-tone and 3-tone ones and hopefully I can pick some up before they are completely gone.

      • Russ says:

        Hi sktL505. Happy New Year to you too. It doesn’t look like they will be phasing out the two-tone pants anytime soon. They are still available at full price. But they are all shipping from retail stores only. Makes me wonder myself what they are doing. I’m with you. I’m trying to get at least one of everything I want before they disappear. Ebay seems to be a good place to get some AA’s at a good price also. That is where I am doing some of my buying. I might have to settle for medium size pants for some items I missed in the larger sizes though. Hope they stretch and fit without getting damaged. That’s all I have for now. Talk to you soon.

      • sktL505 says:

        Thanks! Until I can get some big discounts from AA I will be looking on ebay to get some. I sure do wonder how some ebay sellers happen to have dozens of brand new disco pants for sale. Makes me think something shady is going on there.
        I had a thought that perhaps after disco pants lose their popularity with women, they may become a big aftermarket item for guys, especially since shiny meggings are increasing in popularity at the moment. That would be great actually. What do you think?

  2. Skippy says:

    Do you have a suggested size for a 32 waist as I don’t want to buy a pair that is too large, I do want the skintight look with no sag anywhere.

  3. Skippy says:

    I guess the fit I’m going for is same as the girl in this video,She has a perfect size pants for her body,absolutely stunning and couldn’t fit better.

    • Skippy says:

      Talking about the red one’s.

      • sktL505 says:

        I would say a size medium would be perfect for you. But yeah, that’s a perfect fit on her.
        I had contacted American Apparel several times to ask what size I should get. I told them that size 32 in skinny jeans fit me skintight. They told me to get large in disco pants. I have a pair in medium which fits perfect.

      • Russ says:

        All hot chicks! Hot spandex pants as well. The one in the red SDJ’s is awesome. Great find! Cool vid, even though the song is stupid IMO.

      • sktL505 says:

        Yes, the song is silly but on some level it helps make the idea of tight pants on guys less of a novelty.
        And yes, the red disco pants girl is awesome!!

  4. Skippy says:

    Thanks, Will have to try Medium for my first pair,So glad you have this Blog and enjoy reading everything you write about SDJ. always look forward to seeing a new entry when you have one.As I love these pants and this is the only place on the web we can talk about them,Wish the community was bigger as People out there have to be lovers of these pants as much as we are,But you took the incentive to start this page,Great job so far!!

    • sktL505 says:

      Thanks Skippy for reading! It’s a joy to write knowing there are readers out there. I hope the medium’s fit you ideally if you’ve gotten them yet.

  5. Russ says:

    Hey sktL. I just read your last posts. I don’t think that SDJ’s will ever lose their popularity with women, so I don’t really have an answer as to why a lot of AA disco pants are becoming available on ebay. Maybe AA overproduced them and need to sell them at a reduced price just to move the merchandise. As for menswear, if they become accepted as such, then that is alright by me. What’s the difference anyway? SDJ’s, cycling tights, track tights, leggings, meggings (I hate that word), spandex pants, whatever you call them. They are all still basically pants made of spandex, and pants made of spandex have always been available for men and women, and now are available even for boys. Unisexwear is a better word. Just go to Dick’s Sporting Goods if there is one near you. I went to my nearest one for holiday shopping, and there is spandex everywhere for everyone who wants to wear it in just about every form there is! I know a lot of people have been saying that spandex’s popularity is declining, but I just don’t see it. Also, since I own so much of it, you couldn’t prove it by me! See ya!

    • sktL505 says:

      I agree that spandex will always be around, but in their effort to constantly ‘improve’ things they make changes for the worse, such as making spandex matte instead of glossy.
      Even if disco pants start to become unpopular they will be around for at least several more years because there are so many of them out there.

  6. lawrie320 says:

    i have these three tone disco pants too, i would loved to have seen more colours though

    • sktL505 says:

      I rarely see photos of anyone on the web wearing the 2 tone and 3 tone disco pants. I would have expected those to be phased out first since they don’t seem as popular.

Leave a Reply

