Disco Pant Cutoffs?

Well now–I did not post at all for the month of April! How sad, as I would like to post at least once a month. But there’s been many things going on and most not good. Things may start looking though now.

Anyway, I had a thought: has anyone considered taking an old pair of disco pants (or perhaps–dare I say it–even a new pair) and cut them to make shorts? I don’t mean like the shorts that American Apparel sells as disco shorts. Those are way too short. I don’t personally like them. I mean something like real shorts that both guys and girls can wear. Cut them just above the knees or a wee bit higher. I know, I know. It pains me to consider cutting up a perfectly good pair of disco pants. It’s almost sacrilege. But there needs to be a summertime version of the disco pant and since no one is making them we may just have to do it ourselves.

At least for guys I think wearing tight shiny spandex shorts may be an easier task to handle than wearing the full pants. I know I would feel more at ease wearing a shorts-version of AA’s disco pants than I would be wearing the full length pants. I realize it’s still a challenge to wear anything skintight and shiny, but this is the 2010’s after all. I didn’t exactly live in awareness during the 1970s and early 80’s but didn’t it seem to be more laid back then? Are we regressing? What’s the deal?

Regardless, I am thinking about getting a cheap knockoff pair on ebay and taking it to a seamstress to turn them into shorts. I can’t do that myself and I don’t think it would cost that much anyway. I don’t even know if it’s possible to be done but I do not see any reason why it couldn’t. I do not think the spandex/nylon or spandex/polyester material would just unravel at the cut. And there’s no way I would use an AA pair to do this. Way too expensive and way too nice to mess around with. And of course I would not use a vintage pair.

The problem with old disco pants is not the same as with old jeans. Usually old jeans wear out and start ripping at the knees so naturally you can cut off the torn parts and turn them into shorts. With disco pants the wear always starts at the crotch and bum seams. Those are vital areas whether they are pants or shorts. I’ve never seen disco pants with holes in the knees. So trying to accomplish this project with an ‘old’ pair of disco pants probably would not be a good idea.

I bought my first pair of Levis 511 cutoff skinny shorts last summer. Other than my spandex compression shorts and bike shorts they are the tightest I currently own. I like them a lot but my weight issues tend to make me self-conscious in them and I have not worn them often. I know that disco pants-shorts would also cause me to feel that way but I just think they would be so cool! I think most people would not even really know they’re disco pant cutoffs but would naturally assume they’re biker or compression shorts. I really want to do this!

I just realized that biker and compression shorts do have bands at their hems to keep the shorts from creeping up. I wonder if creep-up would be an issue with disco pant cutoffs. That’s something I would have to find out.

Well I am going to look into this and if it’s doable and I manage to get a finished product I will certainly write about it and post a few picks here.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

