Disco Pants to a Wedding?

I may have a wedding to attend sometime in the near future. It will not not be one of those typical church wedding & reception celebration type deals. It will most likely be an all-church event with the service and celebration taking place in the one locale. And obviously if I am able to attend I am seriously considering wearing my disco pants along with a jacket, shirt and tie. The couple getting married know me and they have seen me wearing disco pants on several if not many occasions. If not the disco pants then at the very least my 7 For All Mankind Rocker jeans which are resin-coated and as a result very shiny and also very tight. They are not as shiny as disco pants but they are the shiniest coated/waxed jeans I have ever seen and they have a leather-look to them.

So what do you all think about wearing disco pants to a friend’s wedding? An acquaintance of mine who also loves disco pants believes it depends on the environment and formalness/casualness of the wedding. And mainly she says that you don’t want to take attention away from the bride & groom because this is their special occasion. As far as the environment goes, it’s very familiar to the bride, groom and me. I think we may even consider the place to be a second home. It will be a formal indoor church wedding, and I would be nothing more than a guest. But there would still be this air of casualness to it just because it’s two church members getting married. Does that make sense? For example, if you get invited to a co-worker’s marriage you realize that you will not know most people there. So you play it safe and dress conservatively. On the other hand, when it’s someone from your family or small-ish church where you know pretty much everyone, you feel more relaxed and you might want to try to be yourself more. Especially when it will be held at a place you go to at least once a week. And even more so because most of the people there will not be freaked out by what you’re wearing since they’ve seen you wear that many time before. (I did mention a while ago that since I started wearing disco pants so often to that place that when I skipped wearing them for whatever reason I was getting asked why I wasn’t wearing them!)

So would I be taking attention away from the bride and groom with my disco pants? I don’t think I would. I would be wearing black ones and most likely not the tightest ones I have. And as I have already stated, the bride and groom know very well that disco pants are a part of my wardrobe, not something I’m pulling out of thin air all of sudden to thrust attention to myself. In fact I feel that I could even message them beforehand and ask if they would be all right with me wearing disco pants. For them I think the most important thing is that I’m there commemorating the day with them. Of course there will be people there who I don’t know and who don’t know me so they might freak out and stare and gawk and giggle and think ‘what the hell is that guy wearing?’ And that’s something they can discuss with the bride or groom afterwards.

But this is something I am seriously considering and I am intent on wearing either them or my shiny Rocker jeans. I think I would be more physically comfortable in the disco pants because the Rocker jeans are a lot less forgiving when it comes to stretchiness. Their shine is also more subtle, requiring the right angle of light to strike them, whereas with disco pants it is very rare for them to not to put on display some form of their glossiness.

Wearing disco pants at this event would rank in the top 3 for being around the most people while wearing disco pants for me. I wore them on one occasion where I was playing in a band with an audience of many young people; another occasion was an outdoor Halloween party with a lot of trick-or-treaters coming by. The wedding would one of the 3 biggest events.

And just so we’re on the same page–I would wear one of my vintage, straight-leg cut disco pants, not the skinny, modern AA kind. I know that the skinny version would command even more attention and I’m not quite ready for that yet.

I think I’m gonna do this! But I’d like to know what you readers think.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

