Disco Pants Wedding Outfit

So I wore my spandex disco pants to the wedding. My trusty black Bojeangles. And I think I was the best-dressed there! Well, even had I worn red disco pants with a black t-shirt and white sneakers I would have considered myself the best-dressed. I’m partial to disco pants as you know. But it went well and I felt comfortable and stylish in my outfit. There is no doubt in my mind that I was the only person there wearing shiny disco pants.

There were no comments or anything that I heard but I am sure some people who didn’t know me were a bit mystified at the sight of my spandex pants. I’m also confident that most people didn’t know they were actually disco pants. I was hoping to find some photos online–you know, the random ‘guy wearing shiny pants’ or ‘dude wearing spandex pants’ type thing on Twitter or Facebook or just about anywhere else online. But I haven’t come across anything yet. Not that it matters but it’s always interesting to see comments that people write. You might remember that quite some time ago I posted some photos of these pants on me online and asked for opinions on how they looked. The overwhelming response was mostly positive and surprisingly there was plenty of positive feedback that came from females.

I just can’t get over how really versatile disco pants are, particularly the vintage cut variety but not exclusively. Even the modern super skinny (leggings-fit) type is amazingly versatile, especially for women. For guys, the modern disco pant looks best in a casual sense, paired optimally with canvas sneakers, Ugg-style boots or Dr. Martens. But the vintage cut pants go with everything. In fact, this is the first time I have worn them with Italian-made shiny dress shoes–the kind that when you walk everyone can hear you–and they looked great together! In the past I have only worn disco pants with Converse sneakers or Dr. Martens boots. I’ve also paired them with some Nike high tops and Vans slip on boots. Some pairings are better than others and ultimately I prefer them with the Converse sneakers and the Dr. Martens.

If I had a navy blue blazer I could have paired it with my midnight navy disco pants and that could have been another outfit consideration. I’m not sure there are any other colors I could really consider wearing for a wedding. Perhaps dark grey would work but I don’t happen to have disco pants in such a color nor have I ever seen any. The closest I have come is American Apparel’s disco pants in charcoal. I’ve seen other brands make them in a color labelled ‘pewter’ and for the most part online they look virtually black. I would have to see them in person. However, their fit is of the modern type and I don’t think I could rock them for a wedding.

And speaking of weddings, I found this photo of a bride wearing disco pants in a very casual wedding environment:

BgYnEHOIcAAtx7N

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Those disco pants look great but those high heels, my oh my! I’ll never come to terms with understanding why women wear shoes like that.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

