Disco Pants on Album Covers, Pt. 1

I’ve been thinking about doing a posted dedicated to album covers that featured someone, anyone wearing spandex disco pants. I know I’ve posted some before. This is a huge endeavor to take on. First, one has to have an extensive record collection or at least an extensive knowledge of album artwork. I have neither. For one thing I’m not much of a record collector. I like to have the music but not necessarily the actual records. Secondly, my knowledge is limited due to my having been way too young to buy and own records during the initial height of disco pants. However I have come across some albums from the era that do feature the pants and I do welcome any help from the readers out there.

Just yesterday I was looking at an Olivia Newton-John record I have that is dated 1977. This is a record I picked up at a thrift store a while back. I’m not a huge fan of her music but the cover features her wearing what appears to be black disco pants. So I bought the album. I was a little surprised that the album is dated 1977 since I am fully confident that disco pants did not appear until 1978. Thus I began to wonder if perhaps the pants were something other than disco pants. Perhaps they were her sharkskin pants from the Grease movie. But since the album artwork presents a full shot of the pants you can see that they are a little loose at the hems, just as disco pants from that era were. Clearly they are not her Grease pants. What was I to do? I went on Wikipedia of course and looked up the album. There it states that the album was recorded and released in 1978, right after the Grease soundtrack. And the actual vinyl record label says 1978 also. So the cover says one thing, Wikipedia says something else and the record label confirms Wikipedia. So I must conclude the album is from 1978 and she is wearing disco pants albeit rather loose-fitting ones.

I’m still having some difficult posting photos here. Perhaps I need to do a computer reboot. Nonetheless I will do a post featuring album covers that have people in disco pants. Other than that I’m sure you all heard that Prince Rogers Nelson has died. For what he lacked in height he more than made up for in talent. Anyway I saw some video on the news of him wearing a gold outfit which appeared to include gold disco pants. I’m not sure because I have not been able to find any related photos or video. It would not surprise me because the first few years of his career coincided with the apex of disco pants wearing. I would just like to find the video I saw on the news just to confirm this and add him to the list of amazing people who have worn disco pants.

 

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Disco Pants on Album Covers, Pt. 1

  1. dorian gray says:

    The best disco pants album cover ever is Maxine Nightingale’s “Lead Me On” album from 1979. Electric blue disco pants and walking a tiger on the front and back cover.

  2. Tom says:

    I found some random album covers with disco pants, all 80’s metal bands. Links below….

    • Spandex Disco Pants says:

      Those are all great! Thanks, Tom for those links. It is interesting that the heavy metal guys took over disco pants in the 80’s. The pants’ use evolved from disco to heavy metal and pretty much everything else in between.

  3. Tom says:

    Found a few more covers……

Leave a Reply

