6th Wearing & Disco Pants on The Drew Carey Show

I didn’t mention it last week but I did wear spandex disco jeans again for the sixth week in a row last Thursday. Oddly enough, it almost became a bit too routine to mention! I almost did not wear them, as there is still a tendency to shy away from the thought of wearing them. But almost like clockwork, I did put them on just to see how I would look in them–as though I did not already know–and as a result kept them for lack of wanting to take them off. Went to the usual thrift store and then to a couple of graveyards since it was Holy Week last week. It was another cloudy day so not much shine to be seen on the pants.

I should mention that I went back to the black Le Gambi pair I have been wearing regularly and while I wanted to wear my puffer jacket, I did shy away and wore my longer black jacket instead.

Tomorrow is Thursday again and I don’t see any reason why I should not wear disco pants again. It is going to be cloudy again and a bit chilly so the puffer jacket is a real possibility. I have to also figure out which pants I will wear tomorrow. Will I go with black again? Or should I go with the midnight once more? I still have the navy, too which is not quite as dark as the midnight. We shall see.

I did want to mention that I saw some disco pants on an episode of The Drew Carey Show. It was on an episode from November of 1996 where there was a song & dance scene featuring the song “What is Hip” by the Tower of Power. First up is a roller-skating scene where a woman is wearing dark pink or wine-colored disco pants with tall, white roller skates. Here is a screen shot:

Fullscreen capture 4192017 115830 PM.bmp

The next scene is a dancing in a bar and features a woman wearing lilac-colored disco pants on the left side of the screen. Take a look:

Fullscreen capture 4202017 120303 AM.bmp

I’m pretty sure they are different women in the disco pants. And mind you, this was from 1996, so these were the vintage type spandex disco jeans that we all love. Have any of you seen this episode and noticed the pants? I have disco pants radar in my brain so I am able to catch sight of them even during short clips. As a side note, this very same musical clip was featured in a later episode that compiled various dance numbers from the show.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in clothing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 6th Wearing & Disco Pants on The Drew Carey Show

  1. Disco Jeans Wearer says:

    I really do love your blog thank you for posting! I’ll keep an eye out for this episode of the Drew Carey Show. Have you seen the episode of That 70’s Show with Mila Kunis in black spandex disco pants, a grease parody?

    • Spandex Disco Jeans says:

      Thanks very much for reading! And thanks for that great clip! Interesting thing is that episode is from 2003 which is way before AA’s disco pant came out. Would love to know what brand those are!!

  2. Russ says:

    Cool pics, and the video is nice!!

  3. Russ says:

    How do I post pics right here on this page?

    • Spandex Disco Jeans says:

      I’m not really sure. There was a commenter a few years who was able to post his photos along with his comments. I don’t know if anything has changed. Blogger is much more user-friendly than wordpress. I still would love to transfer everything but the risk of losing readers again is unsettling.

Leave a Reply

