Disco Pants-Shorts Debut Today!

Just a quick post to announce that I am just about to go out in my newly made spandex disco shorts!

I cut up an XL pair of the Chinese type a couple of evenings ago. Mind you, even though it’s a $10 item and not meant to last very long, it’s still painful to cut a perfectly pair of disco pants. But I did it. I didn’t hem the legs or anything. I just turn the crookedly cut hems inward a bit and leave it like that. But I have discovered that there is a vital importance in having them permanently hemmed. The inseam on the left leg has started to unravel a bit so when I get my official pair(s) made they will be pro hemmed.

Anyway, I am super excited! I feel similar to how I did the first time I went out in spandex disco jeans five years ago, though admittedly less self-conscious. As I have said many times these are a lot shinier than vintage and AA disco pants, and much shinier than any athletic spandex shorts I have or have seen in these modern times.

I will be wearing a button shirt with them. Yes, this shirt will cover up pretty much everything but since these shorts are not like the ‘hot pants’ disco shorts of the past and made by AA there will still be a lot to see as they go down nearly do my knees.

Anyway, will be leaving soon. Will mention anything noteworthy in another post.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in clothing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Disco Pants-Shorts Debut Today!

  1. Disco Jeans Wearer says:

    How did it go? How do they look? I have a pair of AA disco shorts, and while I enjoy wearing disco pants in public, I’ve never been able to wear those shorts out.

    • Spandex Disco Jeans says:

      Hi there,
      It went well! I think they look great but I do have to get them hemmed or I suspect the inseam will unravel.
      They are not the typical ‘disco shorts’ as sold by American Apparel and in the past under the name of ‘hot pants.’ I don’t think I would ever wear those. But these are more like bike shorts. I cut them to just above my knees so they are much longer.

  2. Jim says:

    Hi, you mentioned in one of your posts buying SDJ from Alibab? Can you post the link where you bought them? I thought they only do wholesale.

  3. Jim says:

    Thanks for the link, but it says ‘sorry this item is no longer available’

Leave a Reply

