1st Wearing of Disco Pant Cutoff Shorts

I did it! I wore my homemade disco pants-shorts today. First I went to the post office to drop off a package. There was barely anyone in there. And then I went to the doctor’s office (not for myself) and spent the better part of the last 3 and-a-half hours there. This is the office that has an attractive young woman working there. I don’t think she got to completely see my shorts until she led us to one of the doctor’s rooms. There before leaving the room she looked at me and smiled. At this time it cannot be confirmed if her smile was a reaction to my shorts or just a symptom of her pleasantness.

Before I go on I want to clarify something. The following picture is what is known as ‘disco shorts’ to most people:

C7Y1unhWwAY2Ffg.jpg large-001

Those may also be known as ‘hot pants,’ although actual hot pants were already in existence in the early 1970’s before the disco craze set in with its unique line of clothing. So it’s probably not the best or most correct name either. Thus we will stick to calling these ‘disco shorts.’ Personally, I don’t think I would ever wear these. They are just way too short for my liking.

Here are my disco shorts:

Disco Pants Mine2

Mine are much longer and resemble bike or compression shorts. In fact, anyone who cannot see the button, zipper and/or back pockets will just assume they are athletic spandex shorts. I like the look. They look and feel great and I prefer them over athletic spandex shorts because after all, these were actual pants, or trousers if you will that have just been cut. So from here on out I will refer to these as disco cutoffs or disco cutoff shorts.

I am very pleased because now I have a way to keep wearing spandex disco pants throughout the scorching heat of summer. It was pretty hot today but I felt relatively cool in my disco cutoffs. Some readers have told me that they will continue to wear their full length disco pants regardless of the heat. I applaud them and give them much props and hope to see them in their spandex disco jeans. I too will try to get some wearings in here and there when it’s not too hot. But for the most part I am going to wear my disco cutoffs and I’m going to get some more made. I intend to wear them about three or four times a week so having a few different colors will let others know I’m not wearing the same one pair all the time.

The zipper held up well on the pair I wore today so I may scrap the idea of replacing zippers at first. Plus, if I stick with the XL size it will not put as much pressure on the zipper and will not break (as soon). But what I don’t like about the XL pairs is that the rise is super high. I believe I measured it once at 13 inches! That is way too much. I’m all for high-waisted but if the manufacturer is really making these pants for women, do they think women are going to want to wear these up to their chests? I’m pretty tall and the overall lenght of these are even too much for me. The good news is that if you’re 6’5″ or 6’6″ they will probably fit you to a tee.

As you can see in my photos, my cutoffs are XL but still fit skintight. Ideally I don’t need to go any smaller. But I do like the fit and feel of a large as it does pull you in more and has a slightly lower rise. Since the large does fit tighter the pants would most likely not last as long due to the thinner material. Speaking of this material, I really wish I could find a roll of it so I could have disco pants custom made for me in the classic straight leg style. That would be so awesome! Anyway, as far as the large goes, I might just take that first pair with the broken zipper and button that I cut the legs off to get hemmed and repaired. I’ll see how that one works and how long it lasts.

For the time being I intend to have 3 black ones made (including the one I wore today). Two XL’s and one large. One in a dark blue if possible size XL. And one in gray size XL. If I really want to get adventurous I could go with a red one and a silver one. I don’t think I could do any other color. I will have to place another order from Aliexpress as soon as I get the one I’m waiting on and see how those all fit. I want to keep the ones I’m waiting on as pants. Not going to cut those up!

I’ve been considering perhaps eventually getting a pair of AA disco pants to convert into shorts. I know it’s a crying shame to take something as beautiful as that and cut it up. Maybe if I found a cheap pair or a slightly used or slightly damaged one. I surely would not use any of the ones I currently have. But I really like the idea of an AA disco pant cutoff. They may not be as shiny as the Chinese ones but I can wear them without the fear of them getting easily damaged. As long I don’t get them too tight. Large would be the ideal size. However, since they are made from higher quality nylon/spandex they’re also thicker and are warmer than the cheap ones. So it might defeat the purpose of making them into cutoff shorts. Nah. I’d still love to have a black pair of AA disco pant cutoffs.

In closing, I am really pleased with these cutoffs I made even though they still need a hem. I didn’t do a good job of cutting straight and it’s easily seen. But as long as it’s too hot (IMO) for disco pants these cutoffs will make a perfect substitute and a great way for me to stay in shiny spandex jeans while I wait for jacket weather to return. Oh, and I should mention that I wore a plaid, short-sleeve button shirt. I never thought such a combination would work well together but it did and I’m going to keep pairing button shirts with my disco cut-offs. I may even try this type of shirt with the pants on some occasion this summer. And I may even wear these shorts again tomorrow. Why not? It’s still going to be warm. And to tell you the truth, for whatever reason, it feels less daunting to wear these shiny disco cutoffs than to wear full-length disco pants. Even with all the progress I’ve made since March it just feels easier to wear these cutoff shorts. Maybe because it makes me look more like an exercise enthusiast or athlete vs. a rockstar. Either way, it’s a thrill to wear them.

I had a thought about going to get my cutoffs hemmed and the other pair repaired tomorrow. But if I do that I will not be able to wear the one I wore today. Unless I proceed to cut up another pair tonight! Or I could wear my Nike spandex shorts which are cool but not all that shiny. I just really don’t want to go there with only one pair in hand to repair. I’ll see what I can figure out tonight. But most likely I will be in spandex disco pants of one form or another tomorrow.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in clothing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1st Wearing of Disco Pant Cutoff Shorts

  1. skippy says:

    Hello there, it is Skippy haven’t been on here in ages, Hey those Disco shorts look good,It Reminds me a little of the spandex cycle shorts Which I own.Also I hope you don’t mind if I post this here as I really didn’t know where to post it but have you seen this band The Lemon Twigs, which are two very talented brothers,One plays drums and the other guitar.Looks as though both of them wear vintage disco pants,And I have seen him in a few other videos as well wearing a different color,Looks like le gambi pants Check it out .Great band.

    • Spandex Disco Jeans says:

      Hey Skippy,
      Welcome back! Glad you were able to find the blog after the name change I made.
      But yes, feel free to post anything disco pants related here. If it doesn’t show up right I’ll just put it in my next blog post.
      I checked out the video. It’s great! I’ll buy their albums just because they wear vintage disco pants, lol. Thanks for letting me know about them. I will sure write about them soon.
      Thanks for the compliment on the shorts. I’ve always been a fan of cycle shorts too so these are perfect for me and anyone else really into disco pants.

Leave a Reply

