Todd Rundgren in Spandex Disco Pants

Add Todd Rundgren to the list of guys who have worn disco pants. Seems he was wearing them plenty around 1979, and while there are many photos online most are very small and have watermarks. Todd not only wore disco pants but also skintight leather ones and full-length spandex body suits. He was a bit like David Bowie but I’m not sure if he was really considered glam rock. I am most familiar with his music as a solo artist though he led a band called Utopia for some time.

Here is the best of what I’ve been able to find:

toddrundgren1

toddrundgren2

toddrundgren4

That’s about all there is that is good. If anyone knows of any more quality photos of Todd in disco pants please let me know. The middle photo features him on the right while another guy in the middle is wearing red disco pants. I don’t know who he is other than a member of Utopia.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in clothing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Todd Rundgren in Spandex Disco Pants

  1. Russ says:

    I left you some pics on your FB Messenger page of Kim Mitchell in yellow SDJs, as well as a woman in AA royal blue SDJs from the Oxygen TV show Sisterhood of Hip-Hop. I’m surprised that you haven’t posted them yet, or the videos I gave you from the Magnum episode of the actress in her gold LeGambis. Aren’t you allowed to post them?

    I also have a video from an Oxygen network TV show called My Shopping Addiction, where an overzealous shopper is confronted by her behavioral psychologist about her need to buy everything in sight. During the time when they are gathering all of her clothes together she is wearing red AA SDJs. I think she looks very hot, but maybe you might not, IDK. I’d like to post it here if I can.

    I like what you have done with the SDJs, turning them into disco cutoffs. That is a cool idea! I might just try it myself, but with AA SDJs instead. Since I have a few that have broken down because of use or abuse from previous owners, it shouldn’t be any big deal to try and use them for disco cutoffs. They’re already damaged, so no problem, right?

    I’m going to try and post the video here. It probably won’t work though.

    • Spandex Disco Jeans says:

      Hey Russ,
      Thanks for sharing all the photos you find. I will get to everything eventually. You’re always finding stuff I don’t know about so I will gladly share them.

      You can try posting videso and photos here but I’m not sure you’ll be able. From what I understand, since I’m using the free edition of WordPress it has less features than the paid version. So if you’re not able to post them you can at least post links here or over there on FB.

      Thanks for the positive feedback on the disco cutoffs! I definitely urge you to try it out. Here is the guideline I follow on making them: if you don’t plan to wear the pants as-is anymore or at all, then go ahead and cut them. If you’re not going to miss them, go for it! I would eventually love to have an AA pair made, but I really like the Chinese ones because they are thinner and cooler-feeling in the hot weather. Also because of their low price I can have several different colors made for wearing on different days. If you go ahead and make yours please send some photos! Just don’t throw away the material you cut off because you can use it for belt loops or other creative things.

  2. Russ says:

    Yep, I couldn’t post the video here, so I’ll send it to you on FB Messenger for you to post as you see fit. I have a free account as well, so that takes care of that.

    Thanks for the advice on making disco cutoffs. I’ll try it as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

