5th Wearing Disco Pant Cutoffs & Modifying Chinese Disco Pants

I wore my disco cutoff shorts today for the fifth time. To me they seem to be the best shorts I have ever worn. O.K. so they don’t have all the convenient pockets a pair of cargo shorts does. But I carry my messenger bag most days now because last year I lost my smartphone last year and not only did someone find it, but they didn’t bother to make an attempt to return it. And the reason I lost it was because of a lack of pockets. And I’m concerned about keeping these phones pressed up against the body packed inside a pocket of a skintight pair of pants for all the health reasons associated with electromagnetic radiation. So keeping it in a bag that is not as close to my body is better but still not the best solution.

But getting back to these shorts–they’re awesome! I’ve got the back pockets which I carry my wallet in and the other is free to carry whatever I wish. And unlike the back pockets on most jeans today these are higher up so when you’re sitting down you don’t feel whatever is in your pockets pressing up on your thighs. I hate that feeling! That is my only complaint with Nudie Thin Finn jeans. They are perfectly tight without the leggings look but the rear pockets hang way too low and makes you look as though you are sagging your pants.

And yes, these shorts have a super-high rise (like 14 inches) but it’s not like anyone but me is going to see that. The main things are that they are comfortable in every sense and look absolutely great. And I’m wearing some pretty unique here, so I may just be called a ‘trendsetter.’

I went to the post office today and to two different supermarkets. Was walking around the stores looking for some soft drinks on sale. And then I went to a delicatessen that had some mirrors on a wall. There was no one else in there so I looked at my shorts in there. It’s pretty amazing how even in a lower-light place these shorts have such a high shine. And they were looking really good as I moved around. I wore a shorter, slimmer button-shirt that didn’t cover everything and I noticed in the mirrors that I could see some wrinkles on the front and back as I took steps or stood straight. It was a really good pairing. I don’t like when the shirt is too long ot loose and covers up too much.

I like how these disco cutoff shorts are holding up after five wearings thus far. I have to get more made but now I’m waiting on another order to arrive. I’ve got to make sure I get the right size made into shorts. So after this next order comes in I will examine the pants carefully and see if I need to make size adjustments with shorts in mind. As I already wrote previously, this last seller I received disco pants from is no long selling them and it’s a shame because I’m pretty sure sizing down to large in black and in blue would have made some perfect fitting cutoff shorts.

One commenter mentioned that in the past he also cut off a pair of disco pants to make into shorts but they kept creeping up on him. So I imagine that means when he’d get up from sitting down the shorts had moved up on his leg and he would have to pull them back down. Thankfully, this is not a problem I’m having with them. I think what has helped me is that I cut them down to just above the knees. That’s an area where you usually have some space between the material and your skin, provide your pants are not completely skintight from waist to ankle. So even if my shorts creep up a little when I’m sitting, they fall back into place when I get up. I guess it’s because the ‘hems’ aren’t gripping onto my legs around that area and they have enough slack to move back down. They 100% fit and perform just like I hoped they would.

For the last two nights I have been using the really large black pair I received last week as pajamas. They work really great as pj’s because, while being quite loose, they are still rather tight at the ankles and so they don’t creep while you move around in bed and sleep. Not only that but they are also silky smooth and touching them makes you feel good. Sure it would be even more fun to wear ones that are skintight but these will do. I’m still debating whether or not I’ll wear these out somewhere. Even though they are not tight as they should be, there is still something intriguing about them.

I’m trying to see if I can take one of these well-fitting, black Chinese disco pants and have their lower legs adjusted to make them like the vintage style. I know it’s possible to make loose pants tighter but I’m not sure if the opposite is possible and still have something that looks good. So I have asked an expert and hopefully there will be some good news for me. It would be magnificent to have a pair of these inexpensive pants to look like the Le Gambi’s, Bojeangles, Frederick’s, etc. originals. That would be a dream come true for me. I love spandex disco pants and having some more variety of them would be a great thing. These would certainly make ideal for summer wearing.

But you’re probably saying to youself, “Why would you spend $25 or more to modify a pair of pants that not only cost $8 or $9 but is also a lower-quality item that most likely will not last very long?” And my answer would be “why not?” If I spent $40 or $50 overall and I have a pair of pants that I am in love with I think it’s a small amount to pay. If I were told that it’s possible to modify American Apparel’s disco pants into the vintage straight-leg style for $50 on top of the original $85 price tag of course I would do it! Without hesitation. And I know AA’s pant would last a lot longer than these Chinese ones. But at least for the time being I’m not ready to mess around with the few AA pants I have. AND the AA pants don’t have two things the Chinese pants do: the super high shine and thinner, lighter-weight material.

We’ll see what happens.

 

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in clothing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

