Chinese Disco Pants – Stock Up on Them!!

In my last post where I reviewed the 2nd order of Chinese disco pants I received, I feel that I did not emphasize that I really like the pants despite the sizing issues. I mean, where else can you find pants like these for $9 or $10? And these are pretty versatile. If you’re into leggings you can wear them as such. Guys who are spending $40, $50 or more to get leggings for men called ‘meggings’ would find these perfectly suitable. Why spend so much when these will do the job? Sure, you may have to place a few orders to get the sizing right but at these prices, so what? As a reader of this blog has told me, he received a few pairs which didn’t fit quite right or which were sent in error. He sold them on ebay and broke even or even made a little profit!

If you want to make shorts out of these pants you will have some very nice, comfortable shorts for hot weather. Maybe you want to use them as exercise apparel. That will work, too. They’re very stretchy. Or perhaps you’re a musician and you want to use them as stage gear. Well, put on your Converse or some boots and you’ve got the perfect look. And they make for some great sleepwear as I have been using my larger, looser pairs for this purpose.

I keep thinking back to those girls’ lycra pants that a local discount store named Venture sold back in the 80’s:

venture3

These pants cost $7.99-9.99 at THAT time. And these were basic leggings/tights with no button, zipper or pockets. Nearly 30 years later and you can get actual disco pants for about the same price, and even less if you adjust for inflation! It is just so worth it.

I remember when I saw this ad in the Venture paper all those years ago. I was mesmerized. I wanted to get me some of those pants! Venture had become my new most favorite store. But this wasn’t the first time I had seen such pants in their ads. A few weeks earlier I had seen in their paper girls wearing hot pink pants and black pants. A week after that another photo of girls wearing hot pink ones and black ones. However, as I wrote before, I never saw these pants at the actual Venture store I frequented. Not having a little sister meant you didn’t go to the girls’ section of the store.

Anyway, my point is that these Chinese disco pants are super affordable. Let’s face it–American Apparel disco pants are most likely not coming back. And while many claim disco pants are dead and will only follow fickle fashion trends, there are others out there who still want to keep wearing them or try them for the first time. If you’re not sure you will like disco pants why not get a $10 pair of these and try it out? Of course the quality is inferior to the ones from AA. But most people don’t want to or cannot spend $85 on a pair of what reductionists might call nothing more than a pair of shiny leggings, which we all know is incorrect anyway. Not that you even could take $85 anymore and buy a pair of them. You can try to find a brand new unworn pair on ebay and pay over $100 for them, or settle for a pre-worn, underdescribed pair which may arrive with disappointing surprises. Or shop on Aliexpress and get one, two, five or eight pairs without breaking the bank.

The only strange thing I have to report is that the first 2 sellers I purchased these pants from recently now no longer sell them. First seller, a bit weird but nothing to write home about. Second seller, starting to raise eyebrows. I seriously doubt I purchased the last items they had in stock. Maybe they know something’s up. I still have my 3rd order to recieve and the black pair from my 2nd order. Plus there are plenty of other sellers offering disco pants on Aliexpress. The ones I have purchased from happen to be the ones selling the for the lowest prices. There are others selling them for as much as $20-25 which is still a bargain. I don’t know if they are the exact same pants though. Might be better quality, might not.

Here is a link to the most recent seller I purchased from: AliExpress Disco Pants

From this seller I ordered black, navy blue, white, champagne (gold) & royal blue. All size XL. These are all so inexpensive it would be wise to stock up on them, especially since some of these sellers are no longer offering them.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in clothing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chinese Disco Pants – Stock Up on Them!!

  1. Alex says:

    I just don’t get why more clothing companies don’t start making disco pants. I know there was this resurgence of LeGambi a year or so ago where this brand supposedly came back and started making ‘new’ SDJ, but I think that was all fake. I don’t think LeGambi ever truly came back. There was at least one eBay seller who was selling them as authentic newly made pants by that company, but anyone can fake a brand name.

    • Spandex Disco Jeans says:

      Hi Alex,
      If we’re thinking about the same LeGambi sdj’s that resurfaced recently I can tell you that they are definitely not fake. It was a matter of the trademark name(s) rights being bought and the pants being made again in an even higher quality than the originals. And made in the USA. You can actually research online the trademark brand names and see that they were registered around the same time the pants started becoming available for sale on eBay. I have over 10 pairs of them and they are the real deal. Just like the originals. And no one else but these guys are making them in the vintage straight leg fit.
      As far as faking brand names, that’s more of a Chinese practice because frankly no one can or is interested in stopping them. Just like fake Nike sneakers. They only come from China.
      As far as I can tell, the reasons more companines are not making disco pants include the fact that this particular nylon/spandex material is very expensive and there probably isn’t widespread enough interest in them to be profitable. But AA sold out of them once they announced they were closing so go figure. I think it’s somewhat of an overlooked goldmine. If I had my own clothing line I would definitely have these pants made.

  2. pete says:

    I don’t know where you’re getting them so cheap, because the Aliexpress that I find, even the retail site, makes you order in quantities.

    • Spandex Disco Jeans says:

      Hi Pete,
      Use the link I included in my second most recent post. That will take you to the very seller I purchased from. And you don’t have to buy in bulk. You get discounts if you buy certain amounts but it’s not requred. Let me know how it goes.

  3. pete says:

    tried the link, but it wasn’t working for me.

  4. skippy says:

    Yeah I think I’m gonna order more chinese pants just to have some overstock,I do have quite a few now but did notice that they have the white pants now as they didn’t have that before,Its been a while since I ordered.One of the best Disco pants I own is a low rise version from a company called lip service and I ordered two sizes in the early 2000’s off ebay both blue and I could’ve ordered a red pair and wish I would’ve have, never seen those pants again but the company still is in business.

    https://lip-service.com/

    • Spandex Disco Jeans says:

      Definitely get some more. Just keep in mind that you may have to size down on black, blue & grey while some of the other colors may fit very small.
      I ordered a white pair also recently. Hope they’re not too see-through.
      I’m really surprised that Lip Service had disco pants around that time. Wonder how much they sold for and if they sold well. Might suit them well to start selling them again.

Leave a Reply

