64th Wearing of Spandex Disco Pants

I wore spandex disco jeans today for the 16th time this year. It was one of those cooler summer days today when there is very little sunshine and plenty of remnant clouds from the past days’ flooding rains. The high temperature was 73° but with no sun it felt cool and comfortable. So it was perfect to wear the pants.

I wore one of my new black Le Gambi’s today. And I did something I have never done before. I paired the pants with a short-sleeve button shirt–one of those straight-hemmed shirts meant to be worn untucked. Up to now I have only been seen in public wearing disco pants with some sort of jacket. This is the first time I have worn only a shirt with these pants, and a button shirt at that. I think it works really well. It also helps that I’ve been wearing this type of shirt with my disco cutoff shorts out and about recently. That made the transition a lot easier and if there are any more days like today this summer I can dress like this again. But it has to be those straight-hemmed shirts meant to be untucked. However, if the shirt is the kind meant to be tucked, it would have to be slimmer-fitting or smaller overall for the look to work. The good thing is I have enough of both kinds to create different pairings.

I went to the usual thrift store today and then to a store at the usual mall. Felt very good to be in disco jeans again after nearly two months of not wearing them. I really think this fall will be an exciting time. I’m thinking 3 or 4 times a week in disco pants is a real possibility. And then on Halloween I may even wear a wild color I haven’t worn yet! Will have to make the most of the fall season because winter is a harder season than summer in terms of wearing disco pants. But I will still sneak in a few wearings here and there during the winter months.

About Spandex Disco Jeans

This blog is mostly about spandex disco pants from the 70s, 80s and now!
This entry was posted in clothing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 64th Wearing of Spandex Disco Pants

  1. Alex says:

    I’m buying an assortment of those China disco pants for my co-workers, 3 women and 5 men. Since I wear them to the office all the time, and they’ve never said anything bad about them, I thought I’d surprise them with a pair of their very own. Only once I heard a remark about my SDJ and that was while waiting in line at a grocery store. Someone said “he looks like an elf” lol.

    • Spandex Disco Jeans says:

      That’s a very nice thing to do! I’m sure they will enjoy them and hopefully join you in wearing them at the office. By the way, that must be a super cool office!
      If that’s the worst thing you ever heard said about you wearing sdj’s then that’s a good sign!!

Leave a Reply

